Federally Qualified Health Centers

Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) provide high quality healthcare to underserved areas or populations, provide comprehensive services, have ongoing quality assurance programs, offer discounted services, and have a governing board of directors which include patients.An FQHC must also be a public entity or a private not-for profit. 

Being designated as an FQHC allows Upper Great Lakes Family Health Center (UGL) to:

  • Purchase prescription and non-prescription medications for outpatients at reduced cost
  • Access to the National Health Service Corps  
    • Loan Forgiveness for providers and nurses
    • Scholarships for Students pursuing certain health fields
    • Visit hrsa.gov/loanscholarships for details
  • Access to the Vaccine for Children Program
  • Qualify for medical malpractice coverage through Federal Tort Claims Act
  • Be eligible for various other federal grants and programs

Applying for and receiving grant funds helps UGL to continue to provide high quality service at a lower cost to our community.  Grants allow services to extend beyond traditional medical care to include integrated care, community health initiatives and health education.  


Health Center Data

National Quality Leader – 2014 Health Center Report


Upper Great Lakes Family Health Center is a Federally Qualified Health Center, FTCA Deemed Facility.
This project is/was supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number H80CS26511 Health Center Cluster, total award amount of $1,839,050 with 89.9 % financed from nongovernmental sources. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.